ISO 45001 (replaces OHSAS 18001) – Health & Safety

  • What is ISO 45001?

    The Occupational Health & Safety Assessment Series (OHSAS) set of guidelines were developed to meet a growing need for a recognisable health and safety management system standard and in time became the standard OHSAS 18001, which was until recently the leading specification for Occupational Health and Safety management worldwide.

    Following development work by 50 organisations and countries, OHSAS 18001 has been replaced by ISO 45001, which was published on 12 March 2018 by the International Organization for Standardization (commonly known as ISO) and all organisations currently accredited to OHSAS 18001 will need to migrate to ISO 45001 by no later than March 2021. For those wishing to implement a Health & Safety Management System Standard for the first time, ISO 45001 is the one to use.

    ISO 45001 is not just for organisations in areas such as manufacturing and construction. It is appropriate for any organisation wishing to implement a formal procedure to reduce the risks associated with health and safety in the workplace for employees, customers and any members of the general public having access to their premises.

  • What are its benefits?

    • enhances reputation by demonstrating the adoption of best practice – health and safety is an area where activities are often scrutinised by the public, customers and other stakeholders
    • allows an organisation to demonstrate they are meeting the current Health & Safety Legislation requirements in a structured and auditable way
    • can safeguard against the potential for successful litigation cases – an independently audited and certificated system allows a much greater chance of success when challenging civil litigation issues
    • reduction of insurance premiums – some industries require members to apply the principles of ISO 45001 and in many cases this gives a discount on insurance premiums, often meaning that the implementation costs pay for themselves in reduced payments
    • overall, by implementing ISO 45001 as part of an integrated management system, an organisation not only demonstrates to its clients that it considers Health and Safety is important, but also shows its people that it cares for them in their work environment.
  • How we can help you implement and maintain it

    We have a wealth of experience in

    • developing health and safety policies and systems that are effectively integrated within your organisation and, if appropriate, with management systems based on other standards e.g. ISO 14001
    • documenting health and safety processes and procedures and other processes, as required
    • training staff and managers in ISO 45001 and internal auditing against the standard
    • supporting management teams through the ISO certification process, including migrating from older versions of the standard – we only work with certification bodies approved by UKAS * or, outside of the UK, members of the International Accreditation Forum (IAF)
    • conducting readiness reviews/gap analysis in preparation for certification audits

    *Why use a certification body accredited by UKAS or IAF to certify your environmental management system? See related links to the right on why this matters.


    Ask The Expert

    Click here to Ask Tom

  • Related pages and links

    Integrated management systems standards

    ISO 9001 – the Quality Management Systems Standard

    ISO 14001 – the Environmental Systems Mangement Standard

    ISO 31000 – the Risk Management Standard

    ISO 27001 – the Information Systems Security Standard

    How not to choose a certification body unfit for purpose

    If the body awarding your certification is not itself operating to internationally recognised standards, you could find yourself implementing something of no real value to your organisation. UKAS and its overseas equivalents (only one per country) are appointed by Government to help you avoid this potential pitfall.

    UKAS newsletter on why this is important

    Each country’s Government appointed accreditation body is a member of the International Accreditation Forum (IAF).

    IAF members worldwide